Any tips for editing?

Tagged: , ,

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Toni McHadden
      Participant

My writer’s circle have said that I need to improve my editing skills. I think they are right yet IDK where to start.

Any tips on how to start editing my work?

Matthew Brown
      Keymaster

I’m no editing expert. Far from it.

However, I’m not going to let that stop me from trying to offer an answer.

The best advice I ever heard about editing is to finish the story and then put it away for a few months. When you come back to your work, it will be (more or less) like seeing it for the first time. All the flaws you need to fix should be much much more obvious.

That is easier said than done.

Sarah
      Participant

Hands up who’s editing at the moment!

I’m very good at finding ‘ways’ and ‘methods’ and ‘systems’.  In fact I’m better at that than the editing itself – no surprises there.  At the moment I’ve got each scene summarised on an index card (current count is 95 cards) which I’m now indexing into a small ringbinder (Filofax for info).  I also have a Numbers spreadsheet of each chapter broken into scenes (currently 5 pages) with a brief summary of each scene description (which should tally with index cards) and it also has a notional attempt at tracking plots and subplots (still haven’t mastered this and would be so very grateful for some handy hints and tips if anyone has any).

Keeping up so far?

Not only do I have all of the above but I’ve also downloaded a calendar for the timeframe that I’m writing in – quite handy and, some of you might point out, something I should have done when I first started writing this in November.

I’m still messing about with my scene order and have even changed the personality of one of my characters (turned out this was quite helpful).  My word count is currently 85k, with expectations of reaching about 90k, although I anticipate I’ll be losing another 5-10k at some point in the future.